Book One in the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) Book Two in the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) Book three in the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor)      First of the Book of Ond Series which follows on from the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) Second of the Book of Ond Series which follows on from the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) Third of the Book of Ond trilogy which follows on from the Runespell Trilogy (Artwork by Geoff Taylor)
Artwork for Dawn of a Dark Age (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) The Broken Chalice (Artwork by Geoff Taylor) The Allegiance of Man Book Three of the Book of Man (Artwork by Geoff Taylor)




Born in Derbyshire in 1964, Jane Welch was educated at Repton Prep School in Derbyshire and three separate public schools at a time when each was making the awkward transition from boys only establishments to co-ed schools.

While happily playing the role of ‘angry young woman’, she revolted against the public schools’ Oxbridge system and immediately after leaving school married Richard, a ‘rebel without a cause’ whom she had disastrously embraced at her first public school.

After working in Heffers Booksellers for a short while and running her own small business, she pulled Richard out of publishing and together they spent five winters teaching skiing in Soldeu, Andorra in the Pyrenees. Summers were spent less idyllically labouring in circumstances that would have been familiar to Tess of the Durbervilles, giving the impetus to achieve her childhood dream of writing. She completed her first novel, The Runes of War whilst in Andorra but after HarperCollins made an offer for that and the rest of the Runespell Trilogy writing took over.


The Runes of War was published in Dec 1995, The Lost Runes in October 1996 and The Runes of Sorcery in May 1997. Her second trilogy, The Book of Önd, was published from 1998 to 2000. Her latest trilogy, The Book of Man, is currently being produced. The first book, Dawn of a Dark Age was published in July 2001; the second book, The Broken Chalice will be published in April 2002 and she is currently writing the concluding book in the series called The Allegiance of Man.

She is just completing the last in this trilogy and has recently written a short story Out Of Avalon for her German publisher Droemer to feature in Out of Avalon, an Arthurian anthology with Terry Pratchet, Marion Zimmer Bradley and others.


She lives in Somerset with Richard and their two small and very much adored children, Harriet and George.

wpe41907.gif (557515 bytes)

Favourite image: Walking, talking, planning, dreaming.

wpe51897.gif (446798 bytes)wpe92070.gif (530731 bytes)
wpe16972.gif (499381 bytes) wpe80530.gif (590489 bytes)



Click here to return to top of page

Send mail to JaneWelch@janewelch.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 1998 JANE WELCH
Last modified: December 18, 2001